See also

The 1962-66 Los Angeles Dodgers: The Last Best Team Before Divisions

lad The classic pennant race for each league's championship ended in 1969 when a second round of expansion, leaving both leagues with 12 teams, necessitated the indisputably correct decision to split each league into two divisions—Eastern and Western—with the pennant determined by the winner of a League Championship Series between division winners.

Two teams—the Los Angeles Dodgers and St. Louis Cardinals—won the final six National League pennants decided the old fashioned way, the Dodgers with three (1963, 1965, and 1966) in four years and the Cardinals with three (1964, 1967, and 1968) in five.

Read the entire article here (requires Adobe Acrobat)


Copyright © 2011 | Bryan Soderholm-Difatte