See also

The 1941-46 St. Louis Cardinals: NL's Most Dominant Team Since Cubs, But What About the War?

cub In the first half of the twentieth century, no team other than the 1906-10 Chicago Cubs was as dominant in the National League as the 1941 to 1946 St. Louis Cardinals. Beginning in 1942, the Cardinals won four pennants and three World Series in five years. This St. Louis team proved they could both overwhelm the league and win the close calls. Their first and fourth pennants went down to the wire, one having to go to overtime in a playoff, and their two middle pennants were won by blowout margins. Billy Southworth was the Cardinals' manager for the first five years over of this run, winning three pennants and two World Series, before leaving for another opportunity (with the Boston Braves, who he led to the 1948 pennant). Eddie Dyer, Southworth's replacement, took St. Louis to their fourth pennant in five years in his first year as manager in 1946. The Cardinals had now won nine pennants and six World Series in 21 years; it would be another 18 years before they next appeared in a World Series.

Read the entire article here (requires Adobe Acrobat)


Copyright © 2011 | Bryan Soderholm-Difatte