See also

1906 - 1910 Chicago Cubs

cub Three franchises—the Pittsburgh Pirates, New York Giants, and Chicago Cubs—sequentially, with some overlap, dominated the National League in the first decade of the century, winning all of the league's pennants. Pittsburgh and Chicago each won four, New York won two. In 1908, the three teams fought a pennant race for the ages—maybe the greatest ever—with the Cubs winning and then going on to win their second (and last) World Series to date—and the Giants and Pirates each finishing a mere game behind, tied for second place. Pittsburgh, New York, and Chicago were each dominant for a part of the decade, but it was the Chicago Cubs from 1906 to 1910 that so dominated the league they set the standard against which all great teams would be measured, certainly in the National League. And a very high standard it was.

Read the entire article here (requires Adobe Acrobat)


Copyright © 2011 | Bryan Soderholm-Difatte