See also

The 1996-2001 New York Yankees: Beginning of a New Yankee Dynasty

nyy After Major League Baseball aligned each league into three divisions in 1994, the American League East belonged to the New York Yankees and the American League Central to the Cleveland Indians, at least until the early twenty-first century. From 1995 to 1999, the Indians became the first team since the 1970s Oakland Athletics to win five consecutive division titles. No other team in the Central Division came close to beating out Cleveland. The Indians' best historical run since the 1950s - when they finished second to the Yankees five times in six years, beating them out for the pennant once - really began in 1994, the year they were moved from the AL East into the new Central Division, when they were within a game of first place on the day the players' strike brought an end to a season that might have ended with Cleveland's first pennant after forty years in baseball's wilderness (although they were still a good team in the first few of those forty years). The highest the Indians had ever finished in their 25 years in the AL East was fourth - three times when there were six teams in the division, and once when there were seven.

The 1990s also saw the New York Yankees return with a vengeance from their own sojourn in the wilderness. From 1996 to 2001, the Yankees made the post-season all six years, won five division titles, five pennants, and four World Series. Unlike the Indians, the Yankees had some close calls in winning their division titles. Beginning in 1998, after winning the wild card the previous year, the Yankees would win nine straight division titles before being beaten out by the Boston Red Sox in 2007. And even then, they won the wild card to extend their streak of post-season finishes to 13 straight years. That streak ended the next year.

Read the entire article here (requires Adobe Acrobat)


Copyright © 2011 | Bryan Soderholm-Difatte